Alert List

IT Carlow CAO Alert List 2016

To view new courses and amendments or changes to current courses for the 2016/17 academic year
click here »

Entry Requirements for Ordinary Degree Courses

IT Carlow have revised the entry requirements for ALL Level 7, Ordinary Degree courses. We NO longer require a minimum of 140 Leaving Certificate points.

Foundation Level Mathematics

Foundation Level Mathematics will not meet the Mathematics requirement where a pass in Leaving Certificate Mathematics is a specified requirement. However, Foundation Level Mathematics will be accepted, as a passing subject for Level 6 or Level 7 courses where Leaving Certificate Mathematics is not a specific subject requirement e.g. BA in Art.


IT Carlow have revised the eligibility requirement for incoming FETAC students admitted to Level 8 (Honours Degree) courses under the link awards scheme.  Applicants seeking entry to Level 8 Honours Degree courses must continue to present a full award, having achieved at least 3 distinctions but IT Carlow will accept ANY FETAC award for eight of our Honours Degree courses while two of the Honours Degree courses will continue to require a specific FETAC award. 

Course Coding System

IT Carlow's course coding system. There is a logic to the new coding system. Each code has three numbers. The first digit represents the broad discipline area, the second digit represents the unique course sequence with the third digit representing the NQAI level of the course.

Exit Points

New courses at IT Carlow have been designed with maximum flexibility in mind and many of the Ordinary Degree and Honours Degree courses will provide exit points to students, i.e.
End of Year 2 - Higher Certificate – Level 6 award
End of Year 3 - Ordinary Degree – Level 7 award
End of Year 4 - Honours Degree - Level 8 award