ESP Committee

Message of Support from Vice President for Academic Affairs and Registrar

SETU Carlow’s Ending Sexual Violence, Prevention and Support Committee (ESP) oversees the implementation of the Framework for Consent in HEIs; Safe, Respectful, Supportive and Positive: Ending Sexual Harassment in Irish Higher Education Institutions at SETU Carlow.

Membership comprises of key stakeholders including academics, student support services, EDI, the Student’s Union, HR and external specialist agencies. The vision of the Framework is to ensure an institutional campus culture which is safe, respectful and supportive.  

SETU Carlow value and promote a culture where each and every individual is treated with dignity and respect, and free from harassment and bullying. The higher education student experience must not only be concerned with the pursuit of academic excellence, but also to prepare students to engage with and make positive contributions to society.

As part of SETU Carlow’s response to the Framework, the University is working to ensure that all students and staff have access to education and support on the area of consent.  Supporting the safety, health and wellbeing of our students and staff is our top priority of SETU Carlow. We believe in an organisational culture which encourages and supports the contribution of all and where members of our community can learn or work to their full potential.

David Denieffe
Vice-President for Academic Affairs and Registrar

Term of Reference
Action Plan


Ending Sexual Violence, Prevention and Support Committee (ESP)

Implementation of the Consent Framework in SETU Carlow has been assigned to a member of the Universitys senior management team (VP for Academic Affairs and Registrar) as recommended by the Consent Expert Group.  Recognising the breadth of stakeholders across the University who have a role to play in ensuring the development of an institutional campus culture which is safe, respectful, and supportive, the VP for Academic Affairs and Registrar set up The Consent Framework Implementation Working Group to help coordinate the Framework’s implementation.  This is led by senior management with campus champions/advocates, and in partnership with the SETU Carlow SU.

Meetings take place months during academic year.


Name Position
David Denieffe Vice President for Academic Affairs and Registrar
Helena Fitzgerald Head of Learner Support and Student Services 
Ciara Byrne Project Officer - Consent Framework
Dr Eileen Doyle Walsh Head of Department of Humanities
Dr Karen Hennessy Head of Wexford Campus
Sarah Clarke Faculty of Science and Forsa Union House Representative
Donal McNally Director of Sport
Dr David Allen Lecturer in the Faculty of Engineering
David Buckley Estates Manager
Mark Dunne SETU Carlow Students' Union President
Dayna Fly SETU Carlow Students' Union Vice President for Welfare and Equality
Sgt Conor Egan An Garda Siochana
Garda Frank Bergin An Garda Siochana
D/Insp William Connolly An Garda Siochana

Term of Reference

Term of Reference