Athena SWAN at SETU

Athena Swan at SETU Carlow SETU Carlow is delighted to announce that it has been awarded the international Athena SWAN Bronze Award by AdvanceHE in recognition of our work in advancing gender equality in academia, and in promoting diversity and inclusion for staff and students in higher education.

Welcoming the announcement, Dr Patricia Mulcahy, President, said

This is a highly significant achievement, placing the Institute amongst the first in the Technological Sector to achieve this award, and amongst the first in the higher education sector to achieve the award under the expanded Athena SWAN Charter. Achieving this award under the expanded charter is particularly noteworthy as it recognises a commitment across the Institute to addressing gender equality challenges in higher education more broadly, including, but not limited to, those experienced by women.

The Athena SWAN Charter was first launched in Ireland in 2015 in a major national initiative supported by the Higher Education Authority (HEA). This was underpinned by the HEA National Review of Gender Equality in Higher Education Institutions 2016, which showed that there was significant gender inequality in Irish higher education institutions. Building on this review, An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar, T.D and Minister for Higher Education Mary Mitchell O’Connor, T.D, launched the Gender Equality Action Plan for Higher Education Institutions 2018-2020 in November 2018, which aims to accelerate progress towards gender equality in the universities and institutes of technology. 

This achievement is founded first and foremost on our Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Policy which sets out our commitment to the principles and promotion of equality, diversity and inclusion in all aspects of institutional activity.This is not about political correctness, but is grounded in our belief that EDI is the key to growth and prosperity, from both an educational and societal perspective,” said Dr Mulcahy. “This award has come at an important time in our development as we progress our plans towards the establishment of the Technological University of South East Ireland. I extend my thanks and congratulations to everyone who has contributed to the achievement of this award, with particular thanks extended to the leadership provided by Dr Allison Kenneally, Director for the Office of EDI, our cross-Institutional Self-Assessment Team (SAT) and our EDI Steering Group.”

Important elements of successful institutional Athena SWAN applications have been documented by AdvanceHE and include, inter alia, strong evidenced-based institutional self-evaluations, broad and inclusive consultation, and smart action plans with measurable targets and baselines. This resulted in an Institute-specific gender equality action plan with 68 actions, many of which are already being progressed across the college. 

The EDI Steering Committee

The role of the Equality, Diversity & Inclusivity Steering Committee is to oversee and provide guidance and direction for the achievement of equality, diversity and inclusion objectives across the Institute. The EDI Steering Committee consists of:

Name Role in SETU Carlow
Dr. Patricia Mulcahy President
Ms. Maebh Maher Head of Faculty of Business & Humanities
David Denieffe Vice President of Academic Affairs
Dr. David Ryan Director of the Office of Institutional Planning & Research
Dr. Allison Kenneally Director of the Office of Equality, Diversity & Inclusivity
Dr. Brian Jackson Head of Postgraduate Studies
Dr. Yvonne Kavanagh Assistant Registrar

Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT)

The Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT) consists of the following staff members representing a wide variety of areas across the college. Membership of the SAT is detailed below-

Kenneally, Allison Dr Director of EDI Academic
Allen, Dave Dr Lecturer Faculty of Engineering Academic
Bolger, Maura Senior Technical Officer (Audio Visual) PMSS
Byrne, Rachel Human Resources Officer PMSS
Clarke, Sarah Faculty of Science Administrator PMSS
Coady, Áine Administrator PMSS
Collins, Joseph Head of Faculty LLL Representative SET Member
Culliton, Dave Dr Lecturer, Faculty of Engineering Academic
Davies, Janette Dr Deputy Head of Wexford Campus Academic
Doyle Walsh, Eileen Dr Head of Department of Humanities Academic
Gartland, Aisling Postgraduate Research Student Student
Gleeson, Michael Lecturer, Wexford Campus Academic
Kavanagh, Darren Dr Lecturer, Faculty of Engineering Academic
McCrea, Niamh, Dr Lecturer, Faculty of Business & Humanities Research/Academic
McNally, Donal Director of Sport PMSS
Meade, Chitra Dr Lecturer, Faculty of Business & Humanities Academic
Moyne, Martina Lecturer, Faculty of Business & Humanities Academic
Nolan, Cathal Dr Head of Department, AME Engineering Academic
Power, Clare Dr Quality Assurance & Collaborations Officer PMSS
Purcell, Gemma Business Development Engineer PMSS
Richardson, Noel Dr Lecturer, Director Centre for Men's Health Research/Academic
Scully, Stephen Dr Lecturer, Faculty of Engineering Academic
Sheridan, Róisín Students Union Welfare Officer Student
Tobin, Edmond Dr Lecturer, Faculty of Engineering Academic
White, PJ Dr Lecturer Faculty of Business & Humanities Academic/Research


Further details are available from Dr. Allison Kenneally, Director of the Office of Equality, Diversity & Inclusivity and Athena SWAN leader at t: 059-9175044 or at

You can also follow activities and events at @EDI_SETU and Carlow’s Athena Swan twitter @ITCAthenaSwan