First Fulbright Ambassador at IT Carlow


First fulbright ambassador at IT CarlowMs Trina Rea, Course Director and Media Lecturer at Institute of Technology Carlow, is the first Fulbright Alumni Ambassador for the Institution, the Fulbright Commission has announced.

The Fulbright Commission in Ireland annually awards grants for Irish citizens to study, research, or teach in the U.S. and for Americans to do the same in Ireland. The aim of the Fulbright Ambassador programme is to have a contact on campus so that students, researchers and staff can access guidance on how to approach their Fulbright applications and easily engage with the Fulbright network.

Ms Rea is a Course Director in the BSc in TV & Media in the Department of Aerospace, Mechanical & Electronic Engineering at Institute of Technology Carlow. As a Fulbright-TechImpact Scholar to New York University in 2017-2018, she evaluated news habits of the first generation of digital natives and how those habits affected digital news organisations’ editorial choices, packaging and delivery of news.

Commenting on her appointment, Ms Rea said of her Fulbright Scholarship experience, “’Fulbright’ is a very powerful word in the United States. Once you say you’re a Fulbright Scholar, it opens doors that would otherwise remain closed, and people gladly shared information and ideas, granted research interviews, and took time to give their insights and analysis.

My research took me down a path that I could never have envisaged and one, which I’d never have been able to access from sitting behind a desk in Ireland. The process rejuvenated my sense of purpose and clarified where my future focus should lie. All things I never expected from this Fulbright experience.”

Staff, researchers and students can find out more about the Fulbright Awards at a special briefing in the board room of the Haughton Building at 12.30pm on 27th March. All are welcome.

The 2020-2021 Fulbright Irish Award application period opens on 28th August, 2019. Visit for further information on the awards.