Seven students who “overcame significant personal and financial obstacles” awarded 1916 Bursaries by Institute of Technology Carlow


The sun shone down and added to the warm and happy atmosphere at Institute of Technology Carlow today as seven students from Carlow and Wexford were awarded 1916 Bursaries to assist them in reaching their full educational potential. Each of the seven awardees have overcome obstacles to attend college; the 1916 bursary will provide each student with €5,000 per academic year to support them in their studies.

The awardees are:

  • Carole Mabaso, originally from Swaziland, who is pursuing a BA in Business Studies at Institute of Technology Carlow and wants to work in the community when she graduates
  • Bangladesh native Dilder Begum who is a Bachelor of Business Administration student
  • 1st year Aerospace Engineering student Ayman Amouneh, who moved from Syria to Ireland with his family, and who depends on his motorbike to travel the distance from his home in Dublin to his classes at the Institute.
  • Kubra Dinler, who moved to Ireland 11 years ago from Turkey, and is pursuing a Higher Certificate in Business Studies at the Institute’s Wexford Campus
  • Naomi Judge who is completing a BA in Applied Social Studies
  • Margaret Hogan, a full-time mature student studying for a BA Hons in Youth and Community Work
  • Bukola Smith who travels from Athy five days a week to study for her BA in Applied Social Studies while her three children attend school.

The 1916 Bursary Fund was announced by the Minister for Education and Skills at the end of last year to encourage participation and success by students from sections of society that are significantly under-represented in higher education. The bursary scheme is funded by the Department of Education and Skills and the Higher Education Authority under the Programme for Access to Higher Education (PATH) Fund in recognition of the strong focus on education and equality taken by the leaders of the 1916 Rising.

Institute of Technology Carlow, along with its Southern Cluster partners, was allocated seven 1916 Bursaries for undergraduate students. The overall fund will support 600 students over the course of three years.

The 1916 Bursary Fund is open to: socio economic groups that have low participation in higher education; lone parents; ethnic minorities; students with a disability; Irish travellers; first-time mature student entrants and further education award holders.   Bursary applicants were asked to outline their aspirations for the future, identify the financial and social impediments that stood in their way, and give examples of how they had already shown leadership in their homes, schools or communities.

Speaking at the bursary presentation ceremony at Institute of Technology Carlow, one of the successful applicants said: “I am hugely honoured and privileged to be awarded this bursary. It really means the world to me. This bursary will relieve the financial strain of going to college. I hope this will encourage others to apply for the Bursary and to consider going to college”.

Speaking at the ceremony, David Denieffe, Vice-President for Academic Affairs at Institute of Technology Carlow said, “The 1916 bursaries reflect the educational vision of those who fought for Irish independence and their aspiration for a New Ireland of equal rights and opportunities. 100 years later, we are still working towards this vision and the 1916 Bursaries reflect the commitment of the Department of Education and Skills and the Higher Education Authority to greater access to education. The bursaries will make a crucial difference in the lives of its awardees, many of whom are overcoming significant personal and financial obstacles to attend Institute of Technology Carlow. I congratulate each and every one of them.”

Aisling McHugh, Student Access Officer at Institute of Technology Carlow, has advised students interested in applying for next year’s 1916 bursary to contact the Access Office at Institute of Technology Carlow if they believe that they fall in to one or more of the target groups identified as currently being under-represented in Higher Education. An individual may be in receipt of both a 1916 bursary and a SUSI grant, if they are eligible.

Pictured front are: Aisling McHugh, Access Officer, Institute of Technology Carlow; Lorna Fitzpatrick, Student Union President, Institute of Technology Carlow; David Denieffe, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Institute of Technology Carlow; Rosemary Flynn, Head of Student Service, Institute of Technology Carlow and Martin Smith, Chaplain of Institute of Technology Carlow. Back, from left: Dilder Begum from Carlow; Margaret Hogan, Carlow; Carole Mabaso, Laois; Bukola Smith from Kildare; Ayman Amouneh from Blanchardstown Dublin and Naomi Judge from Laois.