Institute of Technology Carlow and Waterford & Wexford Education and Training Board (WWETB) sign progression agreement


Progression Agreement Carlow Wexford WaterfordInstitute of Technology Carlow and Waterford & Wexford Education and Training Board (WWETB) have signed a progression agreement to provide learners in WWETB with enhanced progression opportunities into Higher Education programmes at Institute of Technology Carlow, including its Wexford Campus.

The progression agreement has been welcomed by the Mayor of Wexford and Chairperson of WWETB, Cllr Jim Moore who described it as a “welcome opportunity for learners in counties Wexford and Waterford, and beyond, to progress to higher education and enhance their career opportunities”.

The agreement will enable access to a range of Level 7 and 8 degree programmes currently on offer by Institute of Carlow through its various campuses, including Wexford Campus. The signing of the progression agreement reflects the national strategy for both higher and further education to improve links between the two sectors. It also reflects the desire of both organisations to provide greater access for learners and ease the transition to higher education.

Kevin Lewis, Chief Executive of WWETB, welcomed it “as another example of joined-up thinking in the southeast region between further education and higher education providers in the interest of the learner”.

“Over 20% of our current first-year intake come from Further Education backgrounds so this formal agreement between Institute of Technology Carlow and Wexford-Waterford ETB builds on this to ensure even greater opportunities and assistance for students in the transition from Further Education to Higher Education. We look forward to continuing to support and develop this important partnership”, commented Dr. Patricia Mulcahy, President, Institute of Technology Carlow.

WWETB was established in 2013 as a result of the amalgamation of Co Wexford VEC, Co Waterford VEC, City of Waterford VEC and the Waterford/Wexford Training Functions of SOLAS. It is a statutory body which has responsibility for education, training and youth service provision across the counties of Waterford and Wexford.

Since its founding in 1970, Institute of Technology Carlow has generated over 50,000 graduates. It currently ranks as the 4th largest of Ireland’s 14 Institutes of Technology with more than 7,500 enrolments and 800 staff. Institute of Technology Carlow provides higher educational programmes, and research and enterprise development opportunities, through centres in Carlow, Wexford, and Wicklow. The Institute offers more than 80 taught programmes to Level 9 on the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ), and boasts the second highest percentage of postgraduates in the IoT sector. Institute of Technology Carlow has the highest percentage of Lifelong Learners in the higher education sector, which reflects the commitment to providing higher educational opportunities for all.

Pictured after the signing of the progression agreement between the Institute and WWETB, from left: David Denieffe, Vice-President for Academic Affairs, IT Carlow; Kevin Lewis, Chief Executive, Waterford and Wexford Education and Training Board; Dr. Karen Hennessy, Head of Wexford Campus; Jim Moore, Mayor of Wexford and Chairperson WWETB; Michael O’Brien, Innovation and Development Manager, WWETB; Ken Whyte, Director of Further Education and Training, WWETB