SciFest at IT Carlow


As the second term comes to an end at IT Carlow, the Department of Science and Health has been keeping up the momentum and provided a host of activities for students, staff and the public at the Institute.

The SciFest winners’ presentation ceremony took place on Wednesday 13th April and their stands were available to view at IT Carlow.  The winner of the Intel Best Project Award was Lorraine Smith from Mountmellick Community School with her project ‘Smelly Peas – Which Manure is Best for Pea Growth?’  BT Best Communicator Award went to Katherine Byrne, Anna Julian and Peggy Miller from St Leo’s College for their research into teenage literacy standards.  The Discover Sensors Award went to Anne McCabe, Lisa Wright and Sophie O’Kelly of St Farnans, Prosperous for their project testing which suncream provides the best protection from the sun.  The Discover Space Award went to Nicole Hanley and Lucyana Sinpetru from St Leo’s College for ‘Can an Aircraft be Made Invisible to Radar?’  The NCE-MSTL Maths in Science Award went to Van O’Reilly, Sarah Farrell and Alison Caplice from Colaiste Lorcain for their ‘Microbial Fuel Cell’.  For more information about SciFest, please go to

A very lively sports science talk on strength conditioning and sports nutrition, featuring two high profile sports science professors, was successfully hosted on Wednesday April 6th.  Dr. Avery Faigenbaum of the American College of Sports Medicine, and Dr. Fernanda Nacleiro from the University of Madrid spoke about training techniques as well the latest research on science nutrition and supplement programmes. IT Carlow also had the pleasure of hosting Dan Sedory, Associate Professor and Director of the Athletic Training Education Programme at the University of New Hampshire, USA for a number of days. Dan kindly delivered a very interesting and informative seminar/workshop on Friday afternoon on ‘Head Injuries and Concussions in Sport – Assessment and Management’ to a full lecture theatre.

Four Pharmacy Technician students from IT Carlow claimed first prize in the National Association of Hospital Pharmacy Technicians conference poster competition in Waterford with their campaign poster for ‘The Role of the Pharmacy Technician in Smoking Cessation’.  The prize included cash and memory sticks.  Pharmacy Technician students at the Institute study an ‘Effective Communications Module’ to encourage teamwork and it was as part of this module that the students became involved in the competition.  The winning team consisted of Margret Maralit, Barry Nolan, Emily McCormack and Agata Mudryk.

IT Carlow congratulates all the winners and is looking forward to next term.