CFAI Umbro Cup Winners 2014


IT Carlow strode to their fourth Colleges FAI Umbro Cup success in five seasons with a comfortable victory over Athlone IT in a one sided  decider at Lisseywollen.

Colleges FAI Umbro Cup Final Report
Athlone IT 0 IT Carlow 3

Three goals in a scintillating ten minute first half spell paved the way for the comfortable win that will have compensated  Carlow somewhat for their recent Premier League Final defeat to UCD. Eric Molloy tucked away the first on 29 minutes with a neat  finish past TJ Forde after full back Noel Haverty's  run and cross from the right.  Dean Broaders doubled  their advantage within two minutes with the Athlone defence still recovering from the shock of conceding the opener when he fired low  past Forde from close range after Sean Skelly did well to get his cross in.  Broaders  volleyed  in a third on 39 minutes after good work by Molloy to leave Michael O'Connor's side facing a mountain to climb after the interval. Athlone did respond and Sean Brennan and substitute Idris Oyeniyi  tested Carlow 'keeper Seamus Houghton with some long range efforts. But they fell well short of making any sort of inroads into the lead as Carlow comfortably claimed another honour.

ATHLONE IT: TJ Forde; C Reddan (I Oyeniyi  59),  G Broughan, N Harney, D Cunningham; J Lyons, S Relihan, B Gill, I Sweeney,  D Brooks; S Brennan
IT CARLOW: S Haughton; N Haverty (J Yeates 72), S Last, R Kenny; C O'Keeffe (M Keeley 89 ), S Dunne (J Savage  60), A Humphries, E Molloy,M Kelly (T Croke 60); S Skelly (G Bell 88),D Broaders
REFEREE: J McLoughlin (Athlone)

Colleges FAI Umbro Cup Final
Athlone IT 0 IT Carlow 3 (E Molloy 29, D Broaders 31, 39)