Bórd na Móna scholarship awarded to SETU student who describes his Ireland of the future

Bórd na Móna scholarship awarded to SETU student who describes his Ireland of the future

"The year is 2042. It’s 7am, the previously loud hustle and bustle of early mornings has subsided. Stepping outside first thing in the morning and feeling clean, the air is clean, the trees are green but it’s quiet. It’s more than quiet it’s silent……"

And so begins Ryan Hickey’s submission to Bord na Móna’s Scholarship Pathway programme on how Ireland could adapt to the circular economy in 20 years’ time. A third year student of the BSc (Hons) in Digital Marketing with Analytics at South East Technological University’s Kilkenny Road Campus, Carlow, Ryan was awarded a Bord na Móna scholarship for his submission on what Ireland will look like in the future, if appropriate supports for sustainability are put in place.

Describing his excitement at winning a scholarship from Pathways to the Future, Ryan from Newbridge in Kildare said, “It was an absolute privilege to be offered this scholarship. Scholarships like this prompt students to take a moment to really think about the topic, to put their mind to creating a better tomorrow. I wrote about an Ireland that I see as achievable, the Ireland I would want my kids to be raised in. A future of small changes that make a massive impact. Many hands make light work however many minds make the difference.”

Bord na Móna’s Scholarship Pathway is one of three pathways in its ‘Pathways to the Future’ programme offering students the opportunity to work on the front line of climate action and sustainable economic development. The Scholarship Pathway has ten places for students in third level education across Ireland, giving a support fund that provides financial support for those accessing education.  The scholarship also includes a work placement opportunity, site visits to Bord na Móna projects and a Bord na Móna assigned mentor.

Sharon Doyle, Head of Human Resources and Corporate Affairs at Bord na Móna said, “Bord na Móna is delighted to be able to offer support to students interested in looking at new ways to tackle climate change. We will now be supporting our ten successful applicants during their studies and will aim to enable them to proactively tackle the key issues linked to climate change, and to learn a wide range of skills alongside the very best experts our industry has to offer.”

Dr Denise Earle, Programme Director for BSc (Hons) in Digital Marketing with Analytics, SETU was very enthusiastic about Ryan’s achievement, “Scholarships such as these present fantastic opportunities for third-level students. Not only do these scholarships help to alleviate the financial burden so many students face, they also offer the opportunity for students to engage with peers and professionals, which allows them to build important connections for their careers. It is also wonderful to see students have their hard work and talents recognised by high profile and well-respected companies such as Bord Na Móna.

“Ryan is an excellent student who is thoroughly embracing his studies and really embodies the type of student we aim to attract and nurture on this programme: hard-working, engaged, creative, analytical, business-savvy, team-player.  We really are so very proud of Ryan’s achievements to date and are excited to see what the future holds for him after he graduates from SETU”.

The Bord na Móna Pathways to the Future scholarships were also awarded to SETU postgraduate students; Shane Ryan, a masters by research student from the Department of Health & Sport Science and Md Shamsuzzaman, a PhD student from the Department of Built Environment on our Carlow campus.

Photo caption:

Pictured at Bord Na Móna’s Pathways to the Future award ceremony are:

Back Row: John MacNamara (Head of Regulatory Affairs, Bord na Móna), Shane Ryan (SETU student), Orla Cox (Recipient), Tom Donnellan (CEO/Managing Director, Bord na Móna), Sharon Doyle (Head of Human Resources and Corporate Affairs, Bord na Móna), Alan Slattery (Recipient), Diamuid Egan (Recipient)

Front Row: Ryan Hickey (SETU student), MD Shamsuzzaman (SETU student), Jane Lowry (Recipient), Joseph Keogh (Recipient)